It’s My Birthday and I’ll Read What I Want To

Today is a very good day to be born. The best day, in fact. I’m biased of course, but who are you to disagree with a birthday girl? August 5 sits nicely at the far edge of summer, but not far enough that you start panicking about not having done enough. It’s the Civic long weekend this year, the mosquitos are practically gone, and you’re not sweating your brains out at night anymore.

Houdini spent 91 minutes underwater in a sealed tank on August 5th.
It’s also the anniversary of Marilyn Monroe’s death in 1962.

This month also marks the first year anniversary of TheBookStylist. (Actual date is closer to the end of August but I’m not going to make you go through this again). A whole year of books and HTML that I’ve had the honour to pillage through.

So today, I feel like the best thing to do would be to tell you what is
On my nightstand this very second: the book I’m using to ring in my 24th year. That book would be The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes. Recommended to me by a pal, it’s described as a cross between The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Silence of the Lambs. Definitely living up to this
claim. It’s exciting, dangerous, strange and worrisome…kind if like growing older.

20130805-234642.jpg

One thought on “It’s My Birthday and I’ll Read What I Want To

  1. Happy Happy Birthday you.
    Congratulations! Another year older and another year wiser.
    You should be very happy being you.

Leave a Reply

